North Dakota Building Code

North Dakota Building Code and Licensing Information

Page updated: 6/3/21

North Dakota Building Code Agency:

North Dakota Division of Community Services (DCS)
1600 East Century Avenue, Suite 2
Bismarck,  ND  58502

Phone: (701) 328.5300

What Are North Dakota Current Adopted Building Codes and Editions:

  • The North Dakota Legislative Assembly has mandated that the State Building Code consist of the IBC, IRC, IMC, and IFGC. Energy conservation standards must be included in the State Building Code.  In January, of 2021 they have adotped the 2020 National Electric Code (NEC)
    • 2018 International Building Code
    • 2018 International Energy Conservation Code
    • 2018 International Fuel Gas Code
    • 2018 International Mechanical Code
    • 2018 International Residential Code
    • 2018 International Fire Code
    • 2020 National Electric Code (NEC)
    • 2012 National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 101 also enforced by the Dept. of Health

Applicability (statewide, local, limited): LIMITED

The North Dakota Division of Community Services (DCS) is assigned the responsibility of updating and amending the North Dakota State Building Code. The DCS is not involved in the enforcement of the State Building Code. Plan review, enforcement, inspection is the responsibility of jurisdictions that elect to adopt and enforce building codes.  If a city, county, or township elects to adopt and enforce building codes, it must adopt and enforce the State Building Code. However, a jurisdiction is permitted to further amend the State Building Code to conform to local needs.


Building Codes by State

State Website
State Licensing  The North Dakota State Electrical Board has the responsibility to examine applicants and issue licenses to those having the necessary qualifications and knowledge in the laws of electricity and electrical codes. The board also has jurisdiction over all electrical installations.  A contractor’s license is required for all jobs over $2,000.00. Separate boards license plumbing and electrical trades.
State Building Code The State of North Dakota has adopted the 2018 International Building Code (IBC), the 2018 International Residential Code (IRC), the 2018 International Mechanical Code (IMC), the 2018 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC), and the 2018 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC).
State Licensing Division
State Fire Marshal
State Environmental Permit


North Dakota Building Code by County
North Dakota Construction Code by County

Additional Building Codes by State

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Code Title
Code Adopted
Technical Bases
Building Code
2015 IBC
Residential Code
2015 IRC
Fire Code
2015 IFC
Electric Code
2017 NEC
Mechanical Code
2015 IMC
Plumbing Code
Not Adopted
Private Sewage Disposal Code
Not Adopted
Fuel and Gas Code
2015 IFGC
Green Construction Code
Not Adopted
Energy Conservation Code
2015 IECC
Property Maintenance Code
No Statewide Standard, State or Local Adoption of Editions of Code
Existing Buildings Code
No Statewide Standard, State or Local Adoption of Editions of Code
International Swimming Pool and Spa Code (ISPSC)
Not Adopted
Accessibility Code
Wildfire/Wildlife Urban Interface Code
Not Adopted
Zoning Code
Not Adopted
Fire Life Safety Code

No items found

No items found

Schedule Time To Talk

Let’s schedule 30 minutes to discuss your project and how Permit Place can help make the permit approval process easier.